General Conference in 3 Words

I started writing a talk-by-talk summary of the 185th Annual General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints when I realized that I could sum up the entire weekend in 3 words: family, atonement, and love.

FAMILY

The topics of talks are not assigned, but it is clear that many of our church leaders feel that it is crucial to focus on the family. More than once it was emphasized that the family is not just a part of God’s plan of happiness, it is the key. Family life, when lived in the way God ordained, will lead us to true happiness in this life and the next, and will bring us blessings we can obtain no other way.

ATONEMENT

Because this past weekend was also Easter weekend there were many talks on and mentions of our Savior’s final days and resurrection. Every time this was mentioned I felt a greater need within myself to develop a deeper understanding of the atonement. I felt that my relationship with our Savior had the basis of belief in Him that everyone needs, but lacks that complete acceptance of the gift that the atonement is. I want to refocus my personal study to learn more about the atonement and how to consistently apply it in my life.

LOVE

Every conference the leaders of the church express their love for the members. If you follow along on social media you will see many expressions of love from the members of the church towards its leaders. In the talks you hear expressions of love from the speakers to their family, friends, church leaders, Jesus Christ, and Heavenly Father. This happens at ever General Conference. What was different this time around was how much I noticed the love I felt while listening to the talks. I felt a renewed love for my family. I felt a renewed love for the Savior and his atonement. I felt a genuine love for the leaders of the church and a deep gratitude for the spirit they shared along with their messages.

What word(s) would you use to sum up your conference experience?

If you were unable to watch General Conference live, audio and video recordings are now available at LDS.org. Written transcripts are also made available about a week after conference airs.

Categories: Diligent in Faith | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

