Getting my snuggle on.

image

This is one of my favorite parts of the day. I climb in to bed and curl up with my squishy. She nurses to sleep and then I lay in bed and just enjoy the snuggles. I don’t often get to stay there for very long, but I still love the time I get.

Why is this one of my favorite parts of the day?

Some people unwind with a drink. Others enjoy a bubble bath. For me it’s the quiet moments and intimate connection of a mother and child that bring me to my happy place. I need this moment of being nothing but mom as much as or more than I need the moments where I am wife, teacher, friend, creator, or any number of other rolls I take on. This is the thing I could never give up no matter what else in my life changes.

My kids are growing. I won’t get to have nursing babies forever. I’ll have to find other ways of connecting with them and recharging my spirit. I think long talks, sitting next to them on the couch, and giving them hugs will be what comes next. I’m not sure what I will do when they start leaving the house and I don’t get to see them every day.

Categories: Diligent in Family Relationships | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

