Defining Me – #TYSKT

You should know that…

I’ve spent a few years now pondering the word diligence. The first place I saw it that caught my attention was in the scripture reference that I chose as our homeschool motto.

“And as all have not faith, seek ye diligently and teach one another words of wisdom; yea, seek ye out of the best books words of wisdom; seek learning, even by study and also by faith.”

Doctrine and Covenants 88:118

As I continued to go through my daily scripture study I realized just how often diligence is mentioned. Sometimes it was telling us about someone who was diligent, and sometimes it was telling us we should be diligent about one thing or another. I decided that I wanted to really understand what diligence meant.

I looked up the dictionary definition and wrote briefly on the About Us page what I found.

diligence:
noun
1. steady and careful application
2. proper attention or care

In the past I’ve thought of diligence to be an equivalent to something that required hard work or intense focus. When I took the time to look it up and really think about the meaning though, I realized that’s not the case. Diligence does not mean that we’re working hard. It means that we’re consistent, careful, attentive, and purposeful in what we are doing.

So, the blog title was born and I’ve mulled the ideas over in my mind a bit, trying to more fully apply it in my life. Yesterday I spent part of the day thinking about how important it is to be specific in defining our goals. I wanted to more fully flesh out and define what it meant to me to live with diligence.

Living With Diligence - A short definition

For me, living with diligence involves 4 main components: attention, purpose, care, and consistency.

Attention: I am attentive to my own thoughts and actions as well as those around me. I look for needs, be they physical, mental, or spiritual, in myself and for those I am in a place to help.

Purpose: I clearly define each need so I have a clear picture of how to act on it. My actions have a purpose and move me towards accomplishing my goals.

Care: I am careful to make sure that my actions are consistent with my values and goals. I care for my physical, emotional, and spiritual health. I care for those around me as I am able.

Consistency: Each task, each step, and each moment is important. I give them each the attention, purpose, and care they deserve. I continually work so that I am the person I am meant to be.

With that definition in place I am more me and I am more clear about where I want to go.

Categories: Diligent in Learning | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

