My Hands Are Full – #TYSKT

(Introducing a sometimes regular addition to the blog: TYSKT – Things You Should Know Thursday. I got this idea from my sister’s blog. These will be short posts with quick facts about me and our family that you might not already know.)

I can’t tell you the number of times I have heard the phrase, “Wow! You must have your hands full.” It’s something that comes with the territory of not only having a large family, but also daring to all go out in public together. I know other people who think that’s a hurtful thing to say to a parent, but it doesn’t really bother me. I really do have my hands full, and when I respond with, “I wouldn’t have it any other way,” I really mean it.

Things in our house are busy and crazy and even overwhelming at times. Things in our house were busy and crazy and even overwhelming when I only had one child too. Having a large family hasn’t changed that. All it’s really done is change the day-to-day routines and relatively minor details about how we run our family.

I really love that my hands are full with raising children. Each one of them has their own distinct personality. They have each taught me things that none of the others could. They have each helped me to become the mother and person that I am. They have influenced each other and I suspect none of them would have been the same without each one of their siblings to learn from as well.

Yes, my hands are full, and I gladly embrace it, because that’s what is right for me.

Categories: Diligent in Family Relationships | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

