Serenity: Mom’s Secret Weapon

Crying Toddler

Photo credit: mexikids (http://www.sxc.hu/profile/mexikids)

Last night was one of those nights. I was exhausted and just wanted to sleep, my children were all less exhausted and seemed more interested in staying up, and my husband, who works early in the morning, was already snoring. I was not happy.

About 2 hours after bedtime and multiple times climbing in and out of bed myself, I thought I finally had all the kids in bed and settled enough to go to sleep. The 3 oldest finally knocked off, but my youngest (20 months old) was fighting sleep and terribly fussy. She wanted to snuggle, but she didn’t want to be touched. She wanted to sit up, then lay down, then climb on top of me, then lay next to me, then climb on dad, then lay next to him, then start all over again. She just couldn’t find a spot to rest.

So, what does an exhausted mother do when she is up all night with an extremely cranky toddler who refuses to sleep? She heads for her secret weapon, of course.

Serenity: Mom's Secret WeaponSerenity (from dōTERRA®) is an essential oil blend composed of individual oils with known calming properties which create a sense of well-being and relaxation. Lavender, sweet marjoram, roman chamomile, ylang ylang, sandalwood and vanilla bean create a subtle aroma ideal for aromatic diffusion or topical application. Applied to the bottom of the feet at bedtime, dōTERRA®‘s Serenity is an excellent way to promote restful sleep.

Last night I rubbed a drop on the bottom of my daughter’s feet, a bit behind her ear, and then settled back in to go back to sleep. She still fought sleep for a while, moving from me to dad and back again, sitting up or laying down, but the fussiness stopped, the eyelids got heavier and heavier, and when she did finally fall asleep she stayed that way for the rest of the night. I got a decent night’s sleep, 4am comes awfully early after a rough night, and after sending my husband off to work I got to head back to bed for a couple more hours of rest. I woke up to smiles, and hugs and kisses from a little girl who was anxious to start her day.

And that’s why Serenity it this mom’s secret weapon.

Do you have a secret weapon for dealing with rough nights?

As a dōTERRA® Independent Product Consultant my mission is to share with you how these Certified Pure Therapeutic Grade essential oils create health and wellness for your body and home. Click the image to visit my website and learn more.

Categories: Diligent in Health and Wellness | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

