When We Need it the Most

When I saw this For Better or For Worse Comic Strip by Lynn Johnston it got me thinking about my reactions to my own kids. Read it, and tell me if it doesn’t make you think, too. (You can click on it to go to the site and get a larger view.)

FBoFW - Need it The Most

More than once I have been frustrated by the actions of my children. Sometimes it happens more than once in a day. At the end of the day, when it comes time for tucking my kids in to bed, I have found myself tired, worn-out, and in a hurry to get comfortable myself so I have tried to skip the goodnight hug and kiss and just say a quick goodnight. More than once I have been asked if I forgot to give them their goodnight kisses. I don’t know that I’ve ever told them I didn’t want to give them their hugs and kisses, but I know that’s how I’ve felt.

So, why do I feel this way? Why do I want to go to bed without the loves? Why do I feel the need to skip that part of our nightly routine?

I think some nights it’s because, for whatever reason, I feel my upset with a particular child is justified and by golly, why should I ruin that by giving them loves.

Other nights, I’m just plain tired and want to get in bed. The hugs and kisses and everything that goes along with it just takes up time, and I want that time for sleeping.

Lynn Johnston doesn’t ever show us what mom does in this situation. I know my own reaction to similar situations can vary. If you could fill in just one more frame with your own reaction, what would be in it?

P.S. – It may not be illustrated in the comic, but if you go to the For Better or For Worse page you can read Lynn’s Notes to see what she said about reacting to this type of behavior with her own children. I bet you can guess what just one more frame would have looked like if she had included it.

Categories: News & Announcements | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “When We Need it the Most

  1. A hug and kiss, of course, would be in the final frame! For me, it’s not just at night, after a full day of activities, but it is in the moment when my son is acting emotionally and I just can’t stand to see him being angry or frustrated over something (like the boy in the comic). More often than not, I have reacted and told him in an angry and frustrated tone how ridiculous his behavior is. I’m not going to do that anymore. Thank you for sharing this “comic.” It may be a kiss and a hug that he needs.

    • Jennifer Lavender

      I love reading this comic as much for the humor as the subtle parenting advice. No parent is perfect and has it all figured out, but Lynn Johnston sure does a great job of making you at least step back and think about what you’re doing without feeling like you’re being preached at or doing it wrong. I’m also going to try to reduce the number of angry or frustrated lectures and increase the hugs and kisses I give out.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

