Learning More About Pregnancy

I’ve come to the conclusion that it doesn’t matter how many times you do something, or how much you think you know about a topic, there is always something new to learn. This has become particularly clear as I am experiencing pregnancy number 4 and find myself learning new things about pregnancy, birth, and babies almost daily. A lot of it comes from the midwives, doulas, and birth advocates that I spend time chatting with. Some of it comes from research on the internet, and there’s even a bit of learning that has come from reflection on my past experiences and what I liked or didn’t like about those experiences.

I have learned more about what happens to mom and baby during labor and delivery. I have learned more about what some of the different options for giving birth are. I have learned how best to make sure that my baby and I are at our healthiest during and after pregnancy.

I think it’s fair to say that if anyone I know shares anything that has the words baby, pregnancy, labor, deliver, postpartum, breastfeeding, or any number of other things related to birth in the title, I will probably check it out. That’s how I came across a blog that is being posted on the NPR site called The Baby Project.

The Baby Project is a blog that follows 9 different moms through the last several weeks of their pregnancy. The women are all different when it comes to age, race, the type of birth they are planning, and their experiences becoming pregnant. They all have different concerns and different joys. If nothing else, this blog really does show that all pregnancies are different. It’s also fun to hear about what other women are thinking about as they go through the final stages of pregnancy.

I still don’t know what my labor and delivery will look like. I don’t know if I’ll take the route I’ve gone before and have another hospital birth, or if I’ll have a birth at home. I do know that I want to keep my birth as natural as possible and I want it to be as healthy as possible for both me and my baby.

Is there anything that you’re learning more about now?

Categories: News & Announcements | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

