What I’m Reading

If you count the books I am reading with Malia for school, the list would be really long, so we’ll stick with the books I’m reading for myself.

LDS Edition of the Scriptures

Our family started reading the New Testament using Penny Gardner’s Storied Scriptures, but we haven’t done that in a while. We need to pick it up again.

And, for my personal reading, I am using ReadTheScriptures.com to have the Complete Standard Works in 365 days sent to my email to read each morning. In this morning’s reading Isaac was born.

Reading About Learning

In my efforts to improve myself and our home school I am reading the works of Charlotte Mason known as Charlotte Mason’s Original Homeschooling Series. I am reading through Volume 1 with an online group and Volume 4 on my own.

Reading for Fun

I just started the second book in the series of Heroic Misadventures of Hiccup the Viking by Cressida Cowell, aka the books that the recent movie “How to Train Your Dragon” are (very loosely) based on. Truth be told, I am enjoying the books even more than the movie. I’ve borrowed them one at a time from the library, but I would love to own the How to Train Your Dragon: Hardcover Gift Set.

Not Started Yet

I picked up 1776 by David McCullough the last time we went to the library. It was recommended by more than one person during discussions in my history class, and I’ve heard it recommended before, so I figured it was as good a time as any to pick it up. Hopefully I’ll get to read it before I have to take it back.

What’s on your reading list?

Is there anything else that I should add to my list?

Categories: News & Announcements | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading

  1. I didn’t know How to Train Your Dragon was based on books!! I’ll have to check those out, the movie was awesome.

    • Jennifer Lavender

      I saw a note in the credits about the movie being based on the books and had to check them out. It’s a cute series, very easy to read, I can finish them in a few hours if I can actually sit down and read for a few hours. As it is, I just pick them up when I have a few minutes here or there and want something I’m not going to get overly engrossed in.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

