More Diligent and Concerned at Home

{My notes from a talk given by David A. Bednar during the October 2010 General Conference titled More Diligent and Concerned at Home.}

This was not the next talk on my list to re-read and post notes on, but it is the one I needed to read next. Since deciding to make “Consistency” my word for the year, I have been on the search for quotes and ideas to help encourage me. One of the first places I looked was LDS.org and this was the very first talk that came up in the search results.

 

Elder Bednar starts his talk by speaking about a revelation in which many leading brethren of the church were encouraged to put their families in order. Doctrine & Covenant 93:40–50 includes the phrase “more diligent and concerned at home” (verse 50).

Elder Bednar went on to explain 3 ways we could all become more diligent and concerned at home. They include expressing and showing our love, bearing our testimony and living it, and the 3rd one that caught my attention was to be consistent. In his words:

Each family prayer, each episode of family scripture study, and each family home evening is a brushstroke on the canvas of our souls. No one event may appear to be very impressive or memorable. But… our consistency in doing seemingly small things can lead to significant spiritual results. “Wherefore, be not weary in well-doing, for ye are laying the foundation of a great work. And out of small things proceedeth that which is great” (D&C 64:33). Consistency is a key principle as we lay the foundation of a great work in our individual lives and as we become more diligent and concerned in our own homes.

Our ability to truly grow as individuals really is dependent on how consistent we are in our actions.

Elder Bednar also spoke about how important it is to make sure that our actions are consistent with our words. When I chose “Consistency” as my word for the year, I hadn’t thought of this implication. I was mostly concerned with focusing my attention on doing the needful things every day. I do appreciate his words, however, and the reminder that our actions need to be consistent with our words. How effective is it really to tell my children that they need to keep their things cleaned up if I don’t clean up after myself? How effective is it to tell my children to use calm voices and not yell at each other when I yell at them. I’ve found yet another way that I can focus on this word and feel its impact throughout this year.

I am grateful that this talk was given, and I am even more grateful that I was directed back to it at a time when I could most appreciate its importance.

Categories: News & Announcements | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

