One Little Word 2011

Every year, instead of setting resolutions and breaking them, I have decided to follow the lead of Ali Edwards and several others and adopt One Little Word that will become a guiding principle for my actions and decisions over the coming year. For 2010 my word was Learn. 2009 was a year full of changes for our family, and I decided that no matter what 2010 brought, I wanted to learn from it.

December 25, 2010

I did learn a lot this year, but some of the most important things were what I learned about myself. As the end of 2010 and the beginning of 2011 approached it didn’t take my usual time spent reading other people’s blog posts about their One Little Word to figure out what my 2011 word was going to be. In fact, I made up my mind close to the beginning of December, before I even saw anyone else blogging about what their word would be. I chose a word that reflects something I learned about myself and illustrates one change that I want to make.

My word for 2011 is CONSISTENCY.

It’s hard to admit, but one of the biggest things I learned about myself during 2010 is that I suffer from a terrible lack of consistency. I make plans, I put them into place, and then a few days later they are out the window. My lack of consistency in my roles as wife, mother, teacher, and homemaker make day-to-day living more difficult for our whole family. Our children are suffering because I am not consistent in keeping up with our home school efforts. Our finances are suffering because I am not consistent in keeping up with our budget. Our home doesn’t feel much like a home because I am not consistent in keeping it clean and orderly. I feel like my spirit is suffering because I am not consistent in spending time in scripture study and prayer.

I could probably go on and on, but I won’t. Suffice it to say that I’ve come to realize that consistency is one of the most important factors in raising well-behaved children and stable young adults. The more inconsistent I am, the more my children suffer for it, and that’s not what I want to pass on to them. It is time for me to make a change.

I don’t know exactly what 2011 will bring. I don’t know exactly how I’m going to tackle changing myself from an inconsistent wreck to a consistent and trustworthy person. I have some ideas. Some of them are ones I’ve tried before and failed at because, surprise, surprise, I was too inconsistent to stick with the program long enough to reap the benefits. All I really know is that I need to make this change, and I need to do it soon. I need to do it for me, and I need to do it for all the people who rely on me, and 2011 is the year I will do it.

(The picture really has nothing to do with this post. I just really liked it and wanted to include it somewhere.)

Categories: News & Announcements | Tags: , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “One Little Word 2011

  1. Mom

    Don’t be so hard on yourself. The trick isn’t to change who you are (which is a wonderful, loving wife and mother) but to find ways to make your style work for what you want. We all learn/work differently. What works for someone else may not work for you and visa versa. Structure and consistancy are great goals to work towards but don’t underestimate the value of creativity and spontaneity either.

    • Jennifer Lavender

      Thanks for the encouragement. Truth be told, I’m hoping that adding some structure and consistency will give us more opportunities for creativity and spontaneity. Right now we’ll come up with something on the spot and can’t do it because there are too many other messes or things to be done to prepare for it. If we can get a routine in place than hopefully there will be more space and time for those spontaneous bursts of creativity.

  2. Oh my, this sounds just like me!! I mean I could have written it word for word =) I agree with your mom though, don’t be to hard on yourself!! God has given us all different gifts and unique personalities. He can take what He has given you and who He made you and work it all out!!! I pray He continues to work on me in this area and I will pray the same for you!! Be Blessed in this New Year!! Thank you for sharing your heart!!
    Angie in GA @ The One Thing
    http://theonethingps274.wordpress.com/

    • Jennifer Lavender

      Thank you for your thoughts and prayers. It’s great to know there are other people out there who struggle with some of the same things I do. I know I will never be perfect on my own, but hopefully I will be able to spend this year allowing God to help me find a balance between consistency and spontaneity.

  3. Mike

    Good Luck! You Can DO IT!!!!

  4. I too struggle to be consistent and disciplined in my work/chores but it has been difficult. I’m sure this year round you will have more determination to do the things you set out to do. Good luck

    • Jennifer Lavender

      Thank you. I am prepared for a difficult year, or at least I feel like I am right now. Ask me again in a couple months.

  5. Visiting from 5 Minutes for Mom. Great focus word for the new year.

    My One Little Word for 2011 is EMBRACE [who I am]. I just started a weekly photography challenge, One Little Word | Captured it you’d like to join. My first post is here Life…as I see it and if you’re interested in joining more info is here One Little Word | Captured

    Are you taking Ali’s class?

    • Jennifer Lavender

      I haven’t signed up for Ali’s class, but I am thinking about it. Thanks for the note about the photography challenge. I’ll definitely go check it out.

  6. Pingback: More Diligent and Concerned at Home | Becoming THAT Family

  7. I love the word “Learn”… learning is something we often forget to focus on as adults.

    Sadly, I know that “consistency” especially when it comes to setting boundaries and disciplining my children is a weakness of mine. I tend to be a bit lazy sometimes about such things.

    • Jennifer Lavender

      That’s me as well. Hopefully I’ll be able to stick with the positive changes I envision for this year.

  8. Pingback: One Little Word | Captured | Becoming THAT Family

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

