You Capture – Serene

Click the image for more serene photos.

When I first thought about the idea of taking serene photos, I thought about taking pictures of my children sleeping. That seems to be my most serene moment of the day. Of course, I already have a million pictures of my kids sleeping. After-all, that’s the only time they’re not moving and I can easily capture a non-blurry image.

Then I thought about posting pictures of the kids eating pancakes. My number one favorite comfort food of all time. But comfort and serene aren’t really the same thing.

Then, I decided to post this photo.

OK, so when you look at those eyes, maybe this photo would have been more appropriate for a theme like “mischief”, but stay with me here.

The moments when this boy is still and serene are few and far between. The moments when I feel serene seem to be even more rare. On this day, the girls were out riding bikes, Maxx was running around, and I was giving the occasional push, chasing down a rambunctious toddler, and attempting to snap a photo or two when I could. When he found himself a spot on the curb to relax it was a moment of calm. For about 30 seconds it was just me, my camera, and the background noise of happy girls.

I don’t get moments like that often, and they tend to come to an end as quickly as they start. This is my serene for the week.

Categories: News & Announcements | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “You Capture – Serene

  1. I have a lump in my throat. Those moments of serenity (no matter how fleeting) are the best!

  2. I love those moments. Moments when sit down and stay still long enough for enjoy just looking at them without having to catch glimpses of them on the way by.

  3. Oh, you are SO RIGHT! My little boy rarely pauses for a snuggle anymore, but luckily he gives me plenty of drive-by hugs and kisses throughout the day in between running and jumping and rolling and knocking this over and … well, being all boy!

  4. I love this photo. Obviously, I don’t know your son, but he does have that look of “just taking a break before I get into more trouble.” Also love your post processing – looks fabulously dreamy.
    Kristin

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

