Perceptive Perspective – Landscapes

Click the image to see more takes on the weekly theme.

Do you know what I love about rain storms in the desert?

They don’t come around very often, so when they do you can really enjoy them. We’ve had some great storms off and on for the last few days, and it has been so refreshing. It has also made for some great photo opportunities.

Sunday we didn’t get any storms where we are, but there were storms all around us. We drove out to Dixie Rock to try and get some pictures of the storms, but by the time we made it out there, the storms had blown away and this is what we got instead.

Still beautiful, especially with how green everything is, but not quite the dramatic storms we had hoped for. We also got some good pictures of the kids and the rocks. Do rock close-ups count as landscapes?

Monday we had storms again, and at lunch time I dropped my husband off at work so I could go to a nearby open area and try to get some pictures. I can’t decide which version of this photo I like better. What do you think?

While I was snapping photos we could hear the thunder and see the lightning getting closer and closer. I didn’t get as many pictures as I would have liked because I felt like I needed to hurry and get home before it started storming. I did manage to get this one that I liked though.

Luckily, the drive home was a quick one and we made it to our front door just as the rain started pouring down. Talk about perfect timing.

Categories: News & Announcements | Tags: , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Perceptive Perspective – Landscapes

  1. These are beautiful shots. Wow…especially those sky shots. Beautiful.

    • Jennifer Lavender

      Thank you. It was fun to catch them. We don’t get skies like that very often.

  2. The skies are amazing – I love all of them, but the editing does make the one look a bit more mysterious or something. Really neat!

    • Jennifer Lavender

      The sepia version reminds me a little bit of the Wizard of Oz.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. You’re so lucky to photograph a storm in one the most beautiful places in the world!

    • Jennifer Lavender

      Well, thank you! We certainly love the variety of scenery we have here.

  4. Thanks for comments on my blog.
    Your stormy landscape looks beautiful, and I think I like sepia variation more. 🙂
    Have a great rest of the week.

    • Jennifer Lavender

      I’m starting to lean toward the sepia version as well. Thanks for the kind comments!

  5. Gorgeous! I don’t have anwhere flat around here to try to get a good picture like that. I do have plenty of thunderstorms though! Send me pictures so I can play!!

    • Jennifer Lavender

      I’m uploading some to Flickr right now. I’ll shoot you an email when they’re ready to go.

  6. Tara

    Those are beautiful shots!!! Love them all!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

