One Little Word – 2010

Originally posted at The Princess Momma Chronicles on January 5, 2010.

In 2007 Ali Edwards started choosing one word to focus on for the year. Instead of making a list of resolutions she chose one little word to  remind her of what she hoped to do over the year. I decided to join her that year and made my word Organize. I didn’t check back in with my word very often and I don’t feel like I accomplished as much as I could have if I had checked in on it more regularly. Ali continued her tradition in 2008 and 2009, but I didn’t choose words for either of those years.

This year I’m going to try again. I’m not making any resolutions this year. Instead, I’m picking one little word that I’m hoping will motivate me into action. My word for this year is LEARN.

I don’t know what this coming year will bring. I do know that I want to spend as much time as I can learning. I want to continue to learn with Malia as we work through our home school curriculum. I want to learn from my failures and mistakes. I want to learn new things. I want to relearn and rediscover things as my children learn about them. No matter what this year brings I want it to learn from it.

I’m also going to set myself reminders to check back in with my word. I want to record the things that I learn and be able to refer back to that list to remind myself of all that I have accomplished. I am hoping that I can help encourage my kids to learn new things and get excited about learning.

So, how do you celebrate a new year and new beginning? Do you make resolutions? If you could pick one word to motivate you or describe what you want from the coming year, what would it be?

Categories: News & Announcements | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

