You Capture – Flowers

This week’s You Capture theme is flowers. There aren’t many real flowers left around here. I thought about finding some floral printed fabric to take a picture of, but there’s a shortage of that around here too. Luckily, some of my favorite flowers are still growing right outside my front door. These are blossoms from the tree that I have dubbed my jungle tree. Some day I’ll take the time to find out what kind of tree it really is.

These blossoms are fluffy and pink. During the spring they are all over the tree. During the summer you start to see fewer and fewer of them. And About this time of year you start to see the last stragglers starting to disappear as the seed pods start to make their way into their spots.

Even the bees are taking advantage of the few remaining bunches. I think it’s really interesting to look at each bunch of blossoms and see them in different stages, from buds to withered.

I really love having this spot of beauty right outside my door. It’s an everyday reminder of all the beautiful things we have to enjoy.

Categories: News & Announcements | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “You Capture – Flowers

  1. Stacia

    Wow, those are funky looking! I love that they’re wispy but full of substance all at the same time. And the bees like ’em, so they have to be something special! =>

  2. Those are so pretty and different looking!

  3. oh wow are they pretty, I want a jungle tree.

  4. Wow, these are super cool, and great capture with the bee! Love it!

  5. Those are really cool looking! You got a bee picture too…they seem extra busy this time of year. šŸ™‚

  6. I call those Dr Seuss trees!

  7. Jennifer Lavender

    I was very sad to come home from running errands today to find that the property management had trimmed the tree way back. It’s still pretty, but not quite the jungle tree it used to be. šŸ˜¦

  8. What an unusual flower choice—loving it! So unique! Great shots!

    I photographed and wrote about sunflowers, but here in Ohio, they were dying…as are all the flowers. Still had fun though…interesting how they turned out.

    http://curiousgeorgi.blogspot.com/2010/09/lifecycle-of-sonflower.html

  9. Lisa

    Looks like a mimosa tree to me. We had one on our street in Florida, and also when I lived in Illinois.

    http://plants.ifas.ufl.edu/node/29

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

